Postcard from the past

Coming across old family photos would have to be one of the things I love most about this whole family history research-thingy. Not starting out with many myself, I’ve been so grateful to receive them over the years from family members, distant relatives, and sometimes even total strangers.

If you’re reading this – you guys are awesome!

I also love it when I can return the favour, and try to do so as much as possible.

So my most recent ‘discovery’ was of a postcard from c1910, advertising ‘Hilldrop‘ – a private boarding establishment at Bismarck, Tasmania (now Collinsvale).

I’ve been putting together a story on the Carlsen family for a while now, who emigrated to Tasmania in 1871.  Peter Oluff and Ane Carlsen lived in Denmark, and arrived in 1872 with their daughter, Wilhelmina Fredderika Carlsen (then aged 2).

I knew that Wilhelmina married Axel Otto Anderson, and that they later owned and ran ‘Hilldrop’ for a number of years.  What I didn’t have was a photo of them, or the property.

Until now.

Thanks, internet!  I owe you one.

Postcard c.1910 advertising 'Hilldrop', run by Wilhelmina (Mrs A.O. Andersen). Axel Otto, Wilhelmina and their daughter Adelina are very possibly in the photo.
Postcard c.1910 advertising ‘Hilldrop’, run by Wilhelmina (Mrs A.O. Andersen). Axel Otto Andersen, Wilhelmina, and their daughter Adelina are very possibly in the photo.

OK, so I don’t know for sure that the man on the horse is definitely Axel, or that the two people on the balcony are actually Wilhelmina and daughter Adelina, but…well…it makes sense, right?  Right?

If you’re going to go to the effort of having a photo taken for a postcard, you’re probably going to be in it.

Or…maybe they were all camera-shy, in which case I now have a very nice photo of some total strangers.

Either way, the property itself is pretty lovely, so at least I now have that.  I also love the idea of a postcard!

I’m not done with my search on the Carlsen family, but for now am happy to squint at / enlarge this photo for a while – and thank the advertisers from the 1900s for the postcard idea.

So, here’s to finding treasures – whatever or wherever they may be.

Happy searching! 🙂

Leave a Reply

